We're Christopher Cook and Emmy Rose, an acoustic duo from Sebastopol, California. We play original music rooted in folk and blues. 

"The music of Cook and Rose is like a majestic antique table. Intricately carved with scrolls and spirals, its dedicated craftsmanship carries stories both ancient and new. Timeless stories that dance right into your soul. And when they've finished playing, you're left at that table to feast on the memory. Trust me, you'll be feasting a long time." –Nicole Cortichiato, Art Spark Texas

The Firefly and the Cigarette 

On the porch, the fireflies
Gather 'round the glow of your cigarette
Sittin' out in the evenin' time
‘Cause the house ain’t cooled off yet

<click to play

Christopher Cook guitar and vocals
Emmy Rose harmonium
Gracin Dorsey cello

  photo Emily Bristow

Wild Cathedral Bells 

Oh, beauty – air and grass and hills

Click the photo to play Wild Cathedral Bells

Christopher Cook on guitar and vocals
Emmy Rose on harmonium and vocals. 
Ollin Chavez – violin. Marjorie Gonzales Chavez – guitarrón

photo by Emily Bristow

You Can Hear Me There 

I was born at sea
I'm not really from anywhere
But when I dwell near thee
I know you can hear me there

click the picture to play "You Can Hear Me There"

Christopher Cook - guitar and vocals
Emmy Rose - vocals

The Black Hummingbird 



We must go to South America
The flowers are dropping from the vine
We will gather in the air tonight…

Christopher Cook guitar, Emmy Rose vocals, Davie Peck harmonium

←- Click image to play The Black Hummingbird


Bone Dry 

I thought one day I’d save you
Ridin’ up on a big white steed
But there you were holding out a cup
In my hour of need

Click the picture to play

Christopher Cook on guitar and vocals. Emmy Rose on harmonium.
Marjorie Gonzales Chavez on guitarrón

Sue Ellen 

Sue Ellen, are the roses still sweet - 
That we passed on our way as we walked to the bay
Down at the end of the windy street?

Emmy Rose - vocals, Christopher Cook - guitar, Ollin Chavez – violin, and Marjorie Gonzales Chavez – guitarrón

Click the picture to listen. 

A Dream Up There 

At a carnival in Nacogdoches, black clouds and thunder on the way
Lighting struck the Ferris wheel; we rolled all the way to Galveston Bay

Click the picture to play 

Christopher Cook – guitar and vocals, Emmy Rose – vocals and harmonium
Ollin Chavez – violin, Marjorie Gonzales Chavez – guitarrón  
Fred Mandujano – percussion, Nathan Cook – trumpet


Oh, Ma’amoiselle 
I read about women like you in books 
What you want with me 
And my dusty panhandle look ... 

Click the image to play Ma'amoiselle

Christopher Cook on guitar and vocals 





Photo by Emily Bristow

Big Orange Moon 

I'm waitin' for a big orange moon
I'll walk around while the whole town sleeps
And at dawn it's gonna give me a tune …

Christopher Cook, guitar and vocals 
Emmy Rose, vocals

←Click to play



   Photo by Emily Bristow

Join our mailing list for the latest news